

Chris Wiest
Chair

Cristi Kendrick Secretary

STATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

P.O. Box 432 Independence, KY 41042 info@lpky.org www.lpky.org **Bryan Short** Vice-Chair

Eric Cranley
Treasurer

<u>LPKY Meeting Minutes</u> Thursday, January 23, 2020 at 9:00pm ET

Call to order & roll call 9:03pm

C. Wiest, C. Kendrick, E. Cranley, M. Gailey, D. Hull, R. Daniel, J. Hicks, K. Moellman, M. Lanham; Lex Hannan, Michelle Randall

*K. Moellman motioned to accept 1/09/2019 meeting minutes, C. Kendrick seconded. Passed w/out objection

Agenda stands approved as presented.

Treasurer's Report - \$10,000 thereabout, working on KREF reports

Secretary's Report - Still in need of meeting minutes for D1 and Graves, Bullitt and Barren Co, D3, D6

Rules Committee Report - report sent to ExCom that will be presented at 2020 Annual Convention, plus 3 additional proposals from members

*E. Cranley motioned to approve Convention Rules, C. Kendrick seconded.

E. Cranley - aye, M. Gailey - abstain, D. Hull - abstain, R. Daniel

- aye, J. Hicks - nay, K. Moellman - abstain, M. Lanham - aye, C. Kendrick - aye, C. Wiest - aye - motion carries (6-3-1)

*Moellman motion to amend Convention Rules 1.1.4.3(d) to change "Chair" to "body": "Optional field race preference voting/instant run off procedure: for any field race in which more than one candidate for an office is to be elected, in an effort to effectively decrease the time elections take,

the

"body" ("Chair") may utilize this procedure for the counting of votes if he informs the delegates that he is using this procedure: once nominations are closed, the delegates shall submit ballots rank ordering their preferences between the candidates nominated; with a score that begins at the number of positions nominated;

further, NOTA shall automatically be nominated (i.e. if 15 people plus NOTA are nominated, the first preference will be "16" and the last "1"); if a delegate lists on their ballot less than the number of people nominated, NOTA shall receive the next vote (i.e. if 14 and NOTA people are nominated, and the ballot has five candidates, then NOTA would receive a ballot of 9); any candidate that is selected on a ballot lower

than

NOTA shall receive a ballot of 0.

M. Gailey seconded; E. Cranley - aye, M. Gailey - abstain, D. Hull - abstain, R. Daniel



Chris Wiest Chair

Cristi Kendrick Secretary

STATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

P.O. Box 432 Independence, KY 41042 <u>info@lpky.org</u> www.lpky.org **Bryan Short** Vice-Chair

Eric Cranley Treasurer

- aye, J. Hicks - abstain, K. Moellman - aye, M. Lanham - aye, C. Kendrick - nay, C. Wiest - nay - motion carries (4-3-2)

- Elections Committee Report District Conventions 2, 4, 6 accepted by Elections Committee for 2020 Nomination Conventions
- Membership/Outreach Full-voting Members as of 1/23/2019. D1=12; D2=32; D3=15; D4=32; D5=3; D6=10

All expired and about to expire members (thru Convention) have been contacted.

- Political Director Campaign Bootcamp was a success. Stephen Meredith's race potential candidate in the works Next project is for a fundraiser to get yard signs for all of our candidates
- IT Committee Moellman District leadership in the CRM, and not just counties, ORR for registered L's, able to now add multiple events on one event
- Communications Director Hannan Perry Campaign is looking to do a fundraiser Candidates encouraged to send articles to Lex for posting on LPKY.org Judge Bertleman's case went to print by Kentucky Gazette.

New Business:

*Wiest motioned, Moellman seconded approval for dinner venue with cash bar, candidates encouraged to give stump speech for \$250. Dinner for Thomas Jefferson membership and above will have their meal covered by LPKY. Passed w/no objections.

- *Wiest appointed to the Credentials Committee K. Moellman and R. Daniel for 2020 Annual Convention, seconded by E. Cranley; passed w/no objections.
- *Wiest motioned to move regularly scheduled meetings from the first and third Thursdays of the month to the third Thursday of the month at 9pm, Lanham seconded.

E. Cranley - aye, M. Gailey - aye, R. Daniel - nay, J. Hicks - aye, K. Moellman - aye, M. Lanham - aye, C. Kendrick - nay, C. Wiest - nay - motion carries (6-2-0)

Moellman motioned to adjourn 10:20pm, Kendrick seconded.