Libertarian Party of Kentucky - State Executive Committee

Minutes, July 13, 2017 meeting, 9:00 p.m.

Call to order: The Chair called the meeting to order at 9:00 p.m.

Roll Call: Present: Chairman Harlen Compton, Vice Chair Bryan Short, Secretary Chris Wiest, Treasurer Ken Moellman, Jr., D1: Dave Watson, D4: Kyle Sweeney, At-Large: Dan Hull; Absent: D2: Chris Dillingham, D3: Chris Roberts, At-Large Mark Gailey. Austin Harney was not present at the beginning of the meeting, but arrived at approximately 9:45 p.m.

Also present: Dave Capano, Cristi Kendrick.

The Agenda presented by the Chair was adopted without amendment or objection.

Motion to approve the Minutes from June 21, 2017, made by Moellman, second by Hull, approved without objection.

Motion to approve the Minutes from June 25, 2017, made by Moellman, second by Watson, approved without objection.

Motion to amend the draft minutes from the 2017 State Convention by Moellman to include the D4 resignations that were tendered, second by Short. Approved amendment without objection. Motion to approve the minutes from the 2017 State Convention as amended by Moellman, second by short. Approved minutes without objection.

Moellman gave the Treasurers report.

Motion by Moellman to appoint Cyrus Eckenberg as Assistant Treasurer, second Short, passed without objection.

The party took up the issue of the expired registration with the Kentucky Secretary of State, and a motion was made to pay up to \$765 to reinstate the entity, change the registered office, and change the registered agent. Motion made by Short, seconded by Moellman.

Motion passed, 4-2-2: Voting Aye: Short, Moellman, Harney, Hull; Voting Nay: Sweeney, Compton. Abstaining: Watson, Wiest.

Motion to appoint Wiest as official registered agent with Secretary of State by Moellman, second Short. Passed without objection.

Motion to authorize any and all paperwork to be executed and completed to effect the expired expiration and for such paperwork to be signed by Moellman and/or Wiest. Motion Wiest, Second Moellman. Passed without objection.

Short gave the Membership report.

Wiest gave the Elections Committee Report. He reiterated that appointments were made to that committee of Greg Nunn and Evan Brown on July 10, 2017, and Jennifer Capano on July 13, 2017, and notice was given to the Executive Committee those same dates.

Wiest gave the Rules Committee report. **Wiest made a motion to appoint Joseph Hickman and Dave Capano to the Rules Committee**. Second: Sweeney. Motion passed without objection.

Moellman gave the IT Committee report.

Cristi Kendrick gave the Special Convention Committee Report.

Wiest made a motion to approve the Fancy Farm budget and expenditures, including "core costs" of up to \$900, and a total budget of \$2,000. [it was noted that the party is making money on the fundraiser related items]. Second, Short. Moellman abstained. Otherwise passed without objection.

[No special convention will be called in 2017].

Short made a motion to rename the Special Convention Committee to the State Events Committee. Second, Watson. Motion passed without objection.

Wiest made a motion to authorize the State Events Committee to assist the Chair in organizing and planning the 2018 annual State Convention. Second, Sweeney. Passed without objection.

Motion by Short to appoint Sidney Cline III and Chris Short as District 5 co-coordinators. Second by Moellman.

Wiest made a motion to amend Short's motion, by adding the following to the motion: "until the earlier of (i) the District 5 chartering convention, or (ii) October 31, 2017." Second: Moellman. Motion to amend passed without objection.

Short's Motion to appoint Sidney Cline III and Chris Short as District 5 co-coordinators until the earlier of (i) the District 5 chartering convention, or (ii) October 31, 2017, passed without objection.

Short made a motion to appoint Shannon Palowitch as the PR Committee Chair. Second, Watson. Passed without objection.

Wiest moved to table the topic of calling a District 5 Chartering convention until next meeting, pending further input from the new co-coordinators. Moellman seconded. Passed without objection.

The Chair then called for new business.

Wiest made a motion that any and all approvals or authorizations for expenditures, reimbursements, or any other spending or disbursements, that were made or authorized by any Executive Committee, prior to June 25, 2017, but which have not yet been paid or incurred, including, without limitation, the April 26, 2015 authorization for blanket reimbursement for the Chair's mileage at the IRS rate on any official party business, be rescinded and revoked effective immediately. Second, Moellman.

Roll call vote: Yeas: Wiest, Moellman, Watson, Sweeney, Compton; Abstains: Short. Motion passed 5-0-1. Nays: none. [Mr. Hull and Mr. Harney had left the call].

The Chair adjourned the meeting at 10:54 p.m.

Minutes presented to Executive Committee for approval at its meeting: 7/27/17

Minutes adopted: 7/27/17

Official:

Harlen Compton Chair